Usually in the spring, Capitals fans are grousing about a missed call or a controversial goal review in the postseason that benefits the other team — usually the Penguins.
But during Game Two, there was a role reversal. Tom Wilson was (rightly so) not penalized or suspended for his hit that struck Brian Dumoulin in the head. Patric Hornqivst was also denied a late-game tally after a lengthy goal review. The league could not find conclusive evidence the puck crossed the goal line.
Many Penguins fans spent their Monday bemoaning the call on social media and saying, ironically despite two straight championships, that the fix is in.
It was a goal – why did the NBC Sports Network have the photo showing the puck over the line, with white space showing and the NHL Crew in Toronto didn’t? Major mistake and miscall by the NHL Officiating Team on and off the ice! https://t.co/mo3jgIPJiC
— Dadof4 (@PAPensFan) April 30, 2018
— William deVry (@WilliamdeVry1) April 30, 2018
By cheap-shot ting the Pens and taking away legit goals….
— Ryan Ahrens (@RyanAhrens5) April 30, 2018
Not even a hearing? Are these the same guys who reviewed the Hornqvist goal?
— Stan Savran (@StanLoveTheShow) April 30, 2018
— Casa D'Oro Jewelers (@casadoropgh) April 30, 2018
There’s zero doubt in my mind the league wants this series competitive so they put the screws on the Murray interference and the Hornqvist goal.
— April Showers Bring Nick’s Bad Tweets (@Nick422) April 30, 2018
— Greg Holland (@HollandGregJ) April 30, 2018
@NHL Has to fix some of these calls like seriously you robbed Hornqvist of a goal last night
— Hobbsy👽 (@BradHobbsy) April 30, 2018
— Mikey (@fsmikey) April 30, 2018
Many Penguins fans are mad because a camera angle showed the puck crossed the goal line.
But we explained why on Sunday this was not conclusive. It’s because of something called parallax effect. Unless the angle is overhead, we cannot know for sure. From any other angle, the puck will appear farther than it actually is because the goal line is painted an inch or so below the surface of the ice.
Sportsnet’s John Shannon actually explained this phenomenon or trick of the eye in 2015 after a controversial Flames goal was disallowed.
Let me blow your mind with this GIF.
So, with no overhead angle to get a conclusive look, the NHL’s situation room in Toronto had no choice but to confirm the on-ice officials’ initial ruling of no-goal.
@Edzo16 Here's something for your dad and announcers to discuss, when viewing goal replays. This is why Hornqvist's "goal" wasn't called a "goal" in last night's Caps-Pens tilt. Go 'hawks! pic.twitter.com/xTL60842lP
— AcePylut (@AcePylut) April 30, 2018
Penguins fan, we hope that settles it. And if not, please grouse more in the comments.
Russian Machine Never Breaks is not associated with the Washington Capitals; Monumental Sports, the NHL, or its properties. Not even a little bit.
All original content on russianmachineneverbreaks.com is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0)– unless otherwise stated or superseded by another license. You are free to share, copy, and remix this content so long as it is attributed, done for noncommercial purposes, and done so under a license similar to this one.