New York Islanders Head Coach Jack Capuano dressed 19-year-old rookie center Mathew Barzal against the Washington Capitals on Saturday night. It was the 2015 first round pick’s NHL debut. Five minutes into the first period, Capuano probably regretted the decision.
Two minutes apart, Barzal took two minor penalties. The second was an interference minor for playing the puck while he was still in the penalty box.
Barzal probably had no idea this was an illegal play. Travis Hamonic explained the rule to him as he skated back to the penalty box.
Here’s the explanation of the penalty in the rule book.
Language of the interference penalty called on Mathew Barzal, for touching the puck while in the penalty box: pic.twitter.com/Rfduj5ySsK
— Alex Prewitt (@alex_prewitt) October 15, 2016
Russian Machine Never Breaks is not associated with the Washington Capitals; Monumental Sports, the NHL, or its properties. Not even a little bit.
All original content on russianmachineneverbreaks.com is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0)– unless otherwise stated or superseded by another license. You are free to share, copy, and remix this content so long as it is attributed, done for noncommercial purposes, and done so under a license similar to this one.